MVP…I mean EMT.

At my age coupled with my lack of sporting background, I didnt think athletics was attainable, but I guess I’m just a late bloomer. thinkrainbows_rani

REPOST from my second favourite place, CrossFit West10. (It’s a far second to my favourite place, Vegas)

*****

“Athlete of the Month for July – Rani AKA Epic Meal Time!

Rani was the first member of CrossFit West10 and it has been incredible to witness her biceps (along with her physical health and overall well being) evolve into the specimens they are today after a short six months!”

Athlete Profile: Rani AKA Epic Meal Time
Age: At the age where I can say, “It’s not polite to ask a lady her age.” (32)

When did you first start Crossfit? January 2013
When did you first start training at CrossFit West10? January 2013

Favorite WOD: any AMRAP; easier for me to set and keep a steady pace
Least Favorite WOD: any For-Time; mental game I struggle with

Tell us about your sports and fitness background:

Here are two stories to sum up my “sports and fitness” background…

(1) My mom drove me to my first soccer practice when I was 10. She walked me across the field, and introduced me to the coach. And, then, as she turned away to leave for work, I ran after her asking her to take me back home (which she did).

(2) In my early 20’s, my friend asked me to play for their soccer team. They needed more females on their team in order to play. I was told I’d alternate with another girl. He lied. I had to play the entire game, and by play I mean trip my own captain, who lost the ball to the opponent –who scored off that play. That’s technically an assist, right?

How did you first get exposed to crossfit? My friend Karolina is an avid crossfitter at Hybird Athletics. She used to teach me crossfit basics at my regular gym.

Take us back to your first WOD. What was it? How did it feel? I don’t remember my first WOD, but my first 101 session was a disaster. The session ended with half Fran. I didn’t know what to do first, puke or pass out.

What sort of changes have you seen in your body, health and fitness since starting CF? I walk tall. I smile more. I am happier. I’m most proud of learning my self-worth and improving my confidence. I no longer have daily headaches, wear a supportive hand brace/tape. The list goes on. And, just ask me to flex my arms next time you see me. Show-n-tell is more descriptive than words.

What sort of changes in your life have you experienced out of taking on something like crossfit that were totally unexpected? This is going to sound so cheesy, but there really isn’t any other way to say it. West10 changed my life. I no longer suffer from daily headaches, attend 2-3 monthly appointments, take medications regularly, or secretly sulk because of pain/discomfort. I no longer rely on massage/physio therapy and pills to fix me.

Ironically, I joined crossfit improve my physical strength/rehabilitation, but I’ve actually become a stronger person on the inside. (I still dream of being able to do a proper push-up though.)

Crossfit unexpectedly taught me how to believe in and do for myself.

Please share with us any favorite crossfit moments.

(1) After a week or so of joining West10, the coaches told me they enjoyed reading my personal blog, and asked me to write for their blog. Since I wanted to write, I felt obligated to not quit and not potentially lose the opportunity. In a way, this opportunity helped build trust and connect with the coaches on a level that I was comfortable with.  JK …flattery gets you everywhere with me.

(2) In March, I injured my knee (thank you box jump burpees), and am now waiting for an MRI. Last week, I noticed less clicking and discomfort in the knee, and also saw a little “protrusion/swelling” above the anterior knee. My convo with Coach Bomber this week:

Me: I have to ask you something. It’s part vanity and part concern. What is this sticking out (as I point to the knee area)?

Coach: It’s your vastus medialis oblique. It’s a part of your quad muscle.

Me: Me? Muscle?

Coach: [more muscle talk]… It’s also called the teardrop. Don’t date a guy who doesn’t know what that is.

Well, boys, get ready. I’m about to make you cry this summer. #HelloShortShorts

Any advice for people just getting started?

(1) Crossfit is for every body shape, fitness ability, and health/wellness goal. I still get surprised reactions from people when I say I do crossfit. My response “Yeah, I’m a badass.”

(2) Trust yourself, the coaches, and fellow crossfitters. Every exercise can be scaled to individual needs/abilities. Everyone wants to see you succeed, and success is defined as simply finishing the WOD. It’s not for best time, most weight, or most reps. You compete with yourself.

(3) Be prepared to receive dating advice from Coach Bomber.

What are your hobbies, interests and or talents outside of CF? Eating donuts and poutine. Not together though. That’s where I draw the line. Epic Meal Time.

Thanks to the West10 coaches for this recognition, for initiating my transformation, and for believing in me. I would have quit after the first 101 session if it wasn’t for your passion for crossfit and genuine desire to help others. You made me feel at ease and showed no judgments. You worked to earn my trust, and only good people will invest in that process. Forever grateful.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About thinkrainbows

positive thinking for simple living.

2 responses to “MVP…I mean EMT.”

  1. Vinny Grette says :

    Now that I’ve met my weight loss goal through daily fitness walks and good meal panning, I want some new muscles! Hope I can find a few without all those acronyms 🙂

    • thinkrainbows says :

      CrossFit is all about the acronyms! It’s a whole other language.

      Vinny, congratulations on your weight loss! Give crossfit a chance to help you build those muscles, and keep the weight off. You will love it, promise!

say something

