Self High-Five.

thinkrainbows_awesomeWhether it’s business or personal, we’re all either openers or closers (and if you’re both, you have a lot to teach this young grasshopper). Openers are skilled at initiating relations/contact with others, and closers are skilled at sealing the deal.

I’m definitely a closer. I have long-lasting relationships with exes, friends, friends of friends, family of friends, etc. One friend even calls me a friend stealer. It’s true. But, the initial ‘breaking in’ of these relationships was difficult for me. I’m not good at initiating conversations with new people.

But this past weekend, I took a small baby step. On Saturday, I went out to Pierre’s Champagne Lounge (Vancouver’s hidden gem; great music, great service.) with some girlfriends. One of them ran into her friends, and so we joined their group. I was standing next to woman who knew my friend. I knew I should introduce myself (since we are at their VIP table and all), but ironically enough, I felt intrusive. I didn’t know when/ how to introduce myself. Spontaneously, I sucked it up, and turned around and introduced myself. Wasn’t so bad. I kid you not, in the past, I would’ve just stood there and not uttered word, unless she initiated a conversation.

Also, some other progress to report on…

The place was packed, and like typical Vancouverites, people stared. I normally would interpret the stares as negative, and immediately become self-conscious. Not this time though. Maybe they were starring because I looked cute. Yeah. That’s it. That’s the story I went with.

I also have been told by friends that I tend to come off as unapproachable because my shyness is misinterpreted as snobby or rigid. So, for a change, I was mindful of this that night. My goal was to just keep a smile on my face. Admittedly, I felt even more awkward with my fake smile, but I found people, especially women, to be receptive to the smile –some even returned the grin.

The smile may be my newest accessory.

Rainbow Thoughts:

(1) Don’t underestimate/undervalue baby steps. Progress is relative. Moving forward is moving in the right direction.

(2) Give yourself credit.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About thinkrainbows

positive thinking for simple living.

6 responses to “Self High-Five.”

  1. best vitamins to build muscle says :

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It if truth
    be told was a amusement account it. Look complex to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how could we communicate?

  2. http://www.spokeo.com says :

    It’s in fact very complex in this full of activity life to listen news
    on Television, thus I just use world wide web for that purpose, and obtain the most recent information.

  3. www39.jimdo.com says :

    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this article! It is the
    little changes that produce the most important changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  4. sasha says :

    This is very encouraging, especially when you are able to notice how a baby step can make a difference. I’m glad you’re making progress. Keep smiling 🙂

say something

