‘Tis the Season

thikrainbows_christmasI grew up not celebrating Christmas. I didn’t have a Christmas tree, and there weren’t any presents under the tree. I was raised to believe that Christmas is a religious celebration (I was raised Sikh). A common reaction from people when I told them I didn’t celebrate Christmas was “So, you don’t get presents?” I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t know the religious significance of Christmas.

I don’t know much about religions, and I don’t really care to learn. Ignorance is blissful.

Now, as a grown adult, Christmas is a reason to celebrate relationships –family and friends, and to over indulge in carbs and Ferrero Rochers. Oh, and I love the holidays as a reason to shop –taking advantage of the sales, and just doing my part to help sustain the economy.

Christmas traditionally celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ. I choose to see this day as something more general –to celebrate a birth, a new beginning, new start. ‘Tis the season to be happy.

Make this holiday your own.

Rainbow Thoughts:

(1) Merry Christmas

(2) Merry Ho Ho Ho

(3) Happy Holidays

(4) Season’s Greetings

(5) Happy Celebrating

(6) mmmm, Ferrero Rochers…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About thinkrainbows

positive thinking for simple living.

say something

